





guide for high-occupancy vehicle facilities

November 2004



GUIDE FOR HIGH-OCCUPANCY VEHICLE (HOV) FACILITIES

OCTOBER 2004



Prepared by the **Technical Committee on Public Transportation Facilities Design**AASHTO Subcommittee on Design

Published by the

American Association of State Highway and Transportation Officials

444 North Capitol Street, N.W., Suite 249

Washington, D.C. 20001

(202) 624-5800

www.transportation.org

© Copyright 2004 by the American Association of State Highway and Transportation Officials. All rights reserved. This book, or parts thereof, may not be reproduced in any form without written permission of the publisher. Printed in the United States of America.

Publ. Code: GHOV-3

ISBN # 1-56051-295-4

Top cover photo courtesy of Linda Siadys.



AASHTO 2004–2005 Executive Committee

Voting Members

Officers:

President: J. Bryan Nicol, Indiana

Vice President: Jack Lettiere, New Jersey

Secretary-Treasurer: Larry M. King, Pennsylvania

Regional Representatives:

REGION I: Allen Biehler, Pennsylvania, One-Year Term

Dan Tangherlini, District of Columbia, Two-Year Term

REGION II: Fernando Fagundo, Puerto Rico, One-Year Term

Harold Linnenkohl, Georgia, Two-Year Term

REGION III: Gloria Jeff, Michigan, One-Year Term

Frank Busalacchi, Wisconsin, Two-Year Term

REGION IV: Tom Norton, Colorado, One-Year Term

David Sprynczynatyk, North Dakota, Two-Year Term

Nonvoting Members

Immediate Past President: John R. Njord, Utah Executive Director: John Horsley, Washington, DC

Technical Committee on Public Transportation Facilities Design

Members

Region I Michelle D. Hoffman, Maryland

Luisa Paiewonsky, Massachusetts Robert Schlicht (Secretary), FHWA

Region II Joseph P. Palladi, Georgia

Stephen Bates, Virginia

Region III Michael Christensen, Minnesota

Region IV Antonette C. Clark, California

Myron Swisher, Colorado Carlos A. Lopez (Chair), Texas Dave McCormick, Washington

Ad Hoc Members

Jim McDonnell, AASHTO Dennis Christiansen, Texas Transportation Institute Chuck Fuhs, Parsons Brinckerhoff Quade and Douglas, Inc. Jon Obenberger, FHWA

Representing the TRB HOV Systems Committee

Dave Schumacher, Metropolitan Transit Development Board, San Diego Katherine Turnbull, Texas Transportation Institute Agnes Govern, Sound Transit, Seattle Thomas W. Mulligan, City of Mississauga, Ontario

AASHTO Highway Subcommittee on Design

Chair: Allen D. Biehler, Pennsylvania
Vice Chair: Susan Martinovich, FHWA
Secretary: Dwight A. Horne, Nevada
Liaison: Jim McDonnell, AASHTO

Member

Georgia

Alabama Don T. Arkle

Steven E. Walker, P.E.

Alaska Gary Hogins, P.E.

Arizona John L. Louis

Arkansas Phillip L. McConnell

Charles D. Clements

California Mark Leja

Colorado Dean Van DeWege

Connecticut Carl F. Bard

Arthur W. Gruhn James H. Norman

Delaware Michael A. Angelo

Kevin Canning Michael H. Simmons

District of Columbia Kathleen Penney

Zahra Dorriz Allen Miller

Florida Brian A. Blanchard, P.E.

Robert Greer Jim Mills, P.E.

Jiii 1411113, 1 .E.

James "Ben" Buchan, P.E.

Thomas L. Turner, P.E.

Hawaii Gary C.P. Choy

Julius Fronda

Idaho Loren D. Thomas

Steven C. Hutchinson

Illinois Michael Hine

Indiana Gerald Mroczka

Iowa Michael J. Kennerly

David L. Little William J. Stein Kansas James O. Brewer

Richard G. Adams LaMonte C. Armstrong

Kentucky Kenneth Sperry, P.E.

David Jones

Gary W. Sharpe, P.E.

Louisiana N. Kent Israel

Nicholas Kalivoda, III

Lloyd E. Porta,

Maine Jerome A. Casey, P.E.

Maryland Kirk G. McClelland

Robert D. Douglass

Massachusetts John Blundo, P.E.

Stanley Wood, Jr.

Michigan Mark Van Port Fleet

Minnesota Richard A. Elasky

Mukhtar Thakur

Mississippi David Foster

John B. Pickering, P.E.

Keith Purvis

Missouri David B. Nichols

Diane Heckemeyer

Montana Carl S. Peil

Paul R. Ferry

Ronald E. Williams

Nebraska Don Turek

Dawn Allyn

Eldon D. Poppe

Nevada Wayne Kinder

New Hampshire Craig A. Green

New Jersey Richard W. Dunne

Arthur J. Eisdorfer Robert A. Signora

New Mexico Roy Maestas

Dennis Peralta Max Valerio

New York Phillip J. Clark

Daniel D'Angelo, P.E.

Richard W. Lee

North Carolina Jay A. Bennett, P.E.

Deborah M. Barbour

Art McMillan

North Dakota Mark Gaydos

Ohio Cash Misel

Larry F. Sutherland, P.E.

Oklahoma Christine M. Senkowski, P.E.

Bruce E. Taylor

Oregon Thomas Lauer

Pennsylvania Dean A. Schreiber, P.E.

Puerto Rico Ariel Pérez

José E. Santana-Pimentel

Rhode Island J. Michael Bennett, P.E.

South Carolina Robert I. Pratt

Rocque L. Kneece, P.E. John V. Walsh, P.E.

South Dakota Joel Gengler

Joe J. Feller

Tennessee Jeff C. Jones

James Zeigler

Texas Mark A. Marek

Utah Jason E. Davis

Vermont Robert F. Shattuck

Virginia Mohammad Mirshahi, P.E.

Washington Harold Peterfeso

Richard Albin

West Virginia Norman H. Roush, P.E.

David E. Clevenger Randolph T. Epperly, Jr.

Wisconsin Beth Cannestra

Robert F. Pfeiffer

Wyoming Paul P. Bercich

U.S. DOT Member

FAA Rick Marinelli, P.E

Associate Member—Bridge, Port, and Toll

N.J. Turnpike Authority
Penn. Turnpike Commission
Port Authority of NY and NJ

J. Lawrence Williams
Barry L. Troup, P.E.
Yue Sun Chen

Associate Member—Federal

USDA Forest Service Deborah Beighley

Associate Member—International

Alberta Allan Kwan
British Columbia Richard Voyer
Ontario Joe Bucik
Saskatchewan Sukhy Kent

Acknowledgements

AASHTO's Technical Committee on Public Transportation Facilities Design is indebted to the many contributions to this guide. The foundational bases of the guide were the NCHRP Report 414, HOV Systems Manual and the previous edition of the AASHTO Guide for the Design of High-Occupancy Vehicle Facilities. Technical Committee members were assigned to the sections of this guide, and they provided the first draft of the sections by including recent developments and experience in the planning, operation, and design of HOV facilities. The additional background research and editing was accomplished by William Eisele, Ginger Daniels Goodin, and Michael Martello of the Texas Transportation Institute, with Ivan Lorenz developing and editing graphics and Pam Rowe performing the word processing. The Technical Committee also wishes to thank the many individuals who provided comments and feedback during the peer-review process.

Table of Contents

LIST OF FIG	URE	S		xiv
LIST OF TAB	BLES			xvii
CHAPTER 1	PLANNING FOR FREEWAY AND ARTERIAL HOV FACILITIES			
	1.1	Overv	Overview of the Planning Process	
		1.1.1	Groups Involved in Planning HOV Lanes	1
		1.1.2	General Transportation Planning Concepts	1
		1.1.3	General Steps in Planning HOV Lanes	4
	1.2	Plann	Planning HOV Lanes on Freeways and Arterials	
		1.2.1	Regional-Level Planning	6
		1.2.2	Corridor-Level Planning	7
		1.2.3	Facility-Level Planning	17
		1.2.4	Sketch-Planning Techniques	17
	1.3	Addit	ional Planning Considerations	23
		1.3.1	Link Between Design, Operation, and Enforcement	23
		1.3.2	Planning for New HOV Lanes Prior to Full Utilization	24
		1.3.3	Planning for Priority Pricing and Incentive Programs on HOV Lanes	25
		1.3.4	General Design and Cost Factors	28
		1.3.5	Transit Planning for HOV Lane Facilities	29
		1.3.6	Potential Truck or Commercial Use of HOV Lanes	30
		1.3.7	Assessing the Potential Environmental Impacts of an HOV Lane	32
		1.3.8	Planning for Converting a Freeway General-Purpose Lane to an HOV Lane	33
		1.3.9	Planning for Converting an Arterial Street Lane to an HOV Lane	34
		1.3.10	Planning Public Involvement	35
	1.4	1.4 Planning for Implementation and Evaluation		36
		1.4.1	Developing an Implementation Plan for HOV Lane Facilities	36
		1.4.2	Evaluation of HOV Lanes	37
CHAPTER 2	OP	ERATI	NG AND ENFORCING HOV FACILITIES ON FREEWAYS	39
	2.1	Linki	ring Design, Operations, and Enforcement	
	2.2	Opera	ational Options for HOV Lanes on Freeways	40
		2.2.1	HOV Facilities in Separate Rights-of-Way	41
		2.2.2	Barrier-Separated, Two-Way HOV Facilities	41
		2.2.3	Barrier-Separated, Reversible HOV Facilities	41
		2.2.4	Concurrent Flow HOV Facilities	43