Guide for the Planning, Design, and Operation of Pedestrian Facilities





American Association of State Highway and Transportation Officials

July 2004



Guide for the Planning, Design, and Operation of Pedestrian Facilities



American Association of State Highway and Transportation Officials

July 2004

ISBN: 1-56051-271-7 Publication Code: GPF-1-CD

©2004 American Association of State Highway and Transportation Officials. All rights reserved. Duplication is a violation of applicable law.

Executive Committee 2003–2004

Voting Members

Officers:

President: John R. Njord, Utah

Vice President: J. Bryan Nicol, Indiana

Secretary-Treasurer: Larry M. King, Pennsylvania

Regional Representatives:

REGION I: Allen Biehler, Pennsylvania One-Year Term

Dan Tangherlini, District of Columbia Two-Year Term

REGION II: Fernando, Fagundo, Puerto Rico One-Year Term

Harold Linnenkohl, Georgia Two-Year Term

REGION III: Gloria Jeff, Michigan One-Year Term

Frank Busalacchi, Wisconsin Two-Year Term

REGION IV: Tom Norton, Colorado One-Year Term

David Sprynczynatyk, North Dakota Two-Year Term

Nonvoting Members

Immediate Past President: Dan Flowers, Arkansas Executive Director: John Horsley, Washington, DC

Subcommittee on Design

Chair:

Allen D. Biehler, Pennsylvania

Vice Chair

Susan Martinovich, FHWA

Secretary

Dwight A. Horne, Nevada

Liaison

Jim McDonnell, AASHTO

State Members

Alabama

Don T. Arkle

Steven E. Walker, P.E.

Alaska

Gary Hogins, P.E.

Arizona

John L. Louis

Arkansas

Phillip L. McConnell Charles D. Clements

California

Mark Leja

Colorado

Dean Van DeWege

Connecticut

Carl F. Bard

Arthur W. Gruhn

James H. Norman

Delaware

Michael A. Angelo Kevin Canning

Michael H. Simmons

District of Columbia

Kathleen Penney Zahra Dorriz Allen Miller

Florida

Brian A. Blanchard, P.E.

Robert Greer

Jim Mills, P.E.

Georgia

Thomas L. Turner, P.E. James "Ben" Buchan, P.E.

Hawaii

Gary C.P. Choy Julius Fronda

Idaho

Loren D. Thomas

Steven C. Hutchinson

Illinois

Michael Hine

Indiana

Gerald Mroczka

Iowa

Michael J. Kennerly David L. Little William J. Stein

Kansas

James O. Brewer Richard G. Adams LaMonte C. Armstrong

Kentucky

Kenneth Sperry, P.E.

David Jones

Gary W. Sharpe, P.E.

Louisiana

N. Kent Israel

Nicholas Kalivoda, III

Lloyd E. Porta,

Maine

Jerome A. Casey, P.E.

Maryland

Kirk G. McClelland

Robert D. Douglass

Massachusetts

John Blundo, P.E.

Stanley Wood, Jr.

Michigan

Mark Van Port Fleet

Minnesota

Richard A. Elasky

Mukhtar Thakur

Mississippi

David Foster

John B. Pickering, P.E.

Keith Purvis

Missouri

David B. Nichols Diane Heckemeyer

Montana

Carl S. Peil

Paul R. Ferry

Ronald E. Williams

Nebraska

Don Turek Dawn Allyn Eldon D. Poppe

Nevada

Wayne Kinder

New Hampshire

Craig A. Green

New Jersey

Richard W. Dunne Arthur J. Eisdorfer Robert A. Signora

New Mexico

Roy Maestas Dennis Peralta Max Valerio

New York

Phillip J. Clark Daniel D'Angelo, P.E. Richard W. Lee

North Carolina

Jay A. Bennett, P.E. Deborah M. Barbour Art McMillan

North Dakota

Mark Gaydos

Ohio

Cash Misel

Larry F. Sutherland, P.E.

Oklahoma

Christine M. Senkowski, P.E. Bruce E. Taylor

Oregon

Thomas Lauer

Pennsylvania

Dean A. Schreiber, P.E.

Puerto Rico

Ariel Pérez

José E. Santana-Pimentel

Rhode Island

J. Michael Bennett, P.E.

South Carolina

Robert I. Pratt

Rocque L. Kneece, P.E. John V. Walsh, P.E.

South Dakota

Joel Gengler Joe J. Feller

Tennessee

Jeff C. Jones James Zeigler

Texas

Mark A. Marek

Utah

Jason E. Davis

Vermont

Robert F. Shattuck

Virginia

Mohammad Mirshahi, P.E.

Washington

Harold Peterfeso Richard Albin

West Virginia

Norman H. Roush, P.E. David E. Clevenger Randolph T. Epperly, Jr.

Wisconsin

Beth Cannestra Robert F. Pfeiffer

Wyoming

Paul P. Bercich

U.S. DOT Member

FAA

Rick Marinelli, P.E.

Associate Member— Bridge, Port, and Toll

New Jersey Turnpike Authority

J. Lawrence Williams

Pennsylvania Turnpike

Commission

Barry L. Troup, P.E.

Port Authority of

New York and New Jersey

Yue Sun Chen

Associate Member – Federal

USDA Forest Service

Deborah Beighley

Associate Member – International

Alberta

Allan Kwan

British Columbia

Richard Voyer

Ontario

Joe Bucik

Saskatchewan

Sukhy Kent

Subcommittee on Traffic Engineering

Chair

Philip A. Shucet, Virginia

Vice Chair

Thomas Hicks, Maryland

Secretary

Regina McElroy, FHWA

Liaison

Ken Kobetsky, AASHTO

State Member

Alabama

Timothy C. Taylor, P.E.

Alaska

Kurtis J. Smith

Arizona

Mike Manthey

Arkansas

Eric Phillips

Tony Sullivan

California

Asif J. Haq

Karla Sutliff

Colorado

Gabriela Vidal

Connecticut

John F. Carey

Delaware

Donald D. Weber, P.E.

District of Columbia

Patrick O. Ogbeide

Florida

Lap Thong Hoang, P.E.

Georgia

Phillip M. Allen

Hawaii

Alvin Takeshita

Idaho

Lance Johnson

Illinois

Joseph S. Hill Kenneth C. Wood

Indiana

Jim Poturalski Carl T. Tuttle

Iowa

Timothy D. Crouch

Kansas

David A. Church, P.E.

Kentucky

Simon Cornett

Louisiana

Thomas L. Payment

Maine

Bruce Ibarguen, III, P.E.

Maryland

Thomas Hicks

Massachusetts

Kelly F. O'Neill

Michigan

Vacant

Minnesota

Bernard J. Arseneau

Mississippi

Wes Dean

Missouri

Steven A. McDonald

Montana

Donald Dusek

Nebraska

Randall D. Peters

Nevada

Scott L. Thorson

New Hampshire

William Lambert

New Jersey

Timothy J. Szwedo

New Mexico

Vacant

New York

Bruce W. Smith, P.E.

David C. Woodin

North Carolina

IV : I DE

J. Kevin Lacy, P.E. North Dakota

Al Covlin

Ohio

Dave Holstein

Oklahoma

Harold Smart

Oregon

Edward L. Fischer

Pennsylvania

Arthur Breneman, P.E.

Puerto Rico

Samuel Forestier

Rhode Island

Frank Corrao, III, P.E.

South Carolina

Richard B. Werts

South Dakota

John Adler, P.E.

Tennessee

Don L. Dahlinger Gerald Gregory

Michael L. Tugwell

Texas

Margaret (Meg) A. Moore

Utah

Robert Hull

Vermont

John H. Perkins

Virginia

Raymond J. Khoury, P.E.

Washington

Toby D. Rickman

West Virginia

Barry Warhoftig

Wisconsin

David I. Vieth

Gary C. Whited

Wyoming

Michael N. Gostovich

Associate Member— Bridge, Port, and Toll

New Jersey Turnpike

Authority

Robert F. Dale

Associate Member– Federal

USDA Forest Service

John W. Bell

Associate Member— International

Manitoba

Ben Rogers

Nova Scotia

Ralph Hessian

Saskatchewan

Sukhy Kent

Technical Committee on Geometric Design

Chair

Robert L. Walters, Arkansas

Secretary

William Prosser, FHWA

Liason

Jim McDonnell, AASHTO

Region 1

Kenneth Briggs, Maryland Donald A. Lyford, New Hampshire Phillip J. Clark, New York Reza Maleki, Port Authority of New York and New Jersey

Region 2

Don T. Arkle, Alabama John Pickering, Mississippi Jeff Jones, Tennessee Norman H. Roush, West Virginia

Region 3

James O. Brewer, Kansas Jim Rosenow, Minnesota Ted Watson, Nebraska Larry Sutherland, Ohio

Region 4

Karla Sutliff, California Max Valerio, New Mexico Wayne Kinder, Nevada Reza Amini, Oklahoma Mark A. Marek, Texas Paul Bercich, Wyoming

Other

John LaPlante, American Public Works Association Joe Ruffer, National Association of County Engineers David Hutchison, National League of Cities Ray Derr, Transportation Research Board