Guidance on Sharing Freeway and Highway Rights-of-Way for Telecommunications

AASHTO Task Force on Fiber Optics on Transportation Rights-of-Way

American Association of State Highway and Transportation Officials

Guidance on Sharing Freeway and Highway Rights-of-Way for Telecommunications

AASHTO Task Force on Fiber Optics on Transportation Rights-of-Way



Published by the American Association of State Highway and Transportation Officials

444 North Capitol Street, NW, Suite 249 Washington, DC, 20001

(202) 624-5800 (*tel*) (202) 624-5806 (*fax*) http://www.aashto.org/main

© Copyright 1996 by the American Association of State Highway and Transportation Officials. This document, or parts thereof, may not be reproduced in any form without written permission of the publisher.

ISBN 1-56051-045-5 Printed in the United States of America

Contents

Acknowledgments
1996 AASHTO Subcommittee on Advanced Transportation Systems iii
1996 NCHRP Advisory Panel 20-7, Task 76 Fiber Optics Facilities on Transportation Rights-of-Way
Introduction
Opportunity With Limits
Framework
Using this Guidance
Step I: Getting Started
Designate Project Champion
Organize for Action
Assemble Information Base8
Step 2: Finding Partners
Identify Potential Partners and Their Needs
Determine Conditions for Partnerships
Enlist Participation
Step 3: Closing the Deal
Determine Compensation
Negotiate Partner Responsibilities
Delineation of Design Parameters
Step 4: Following Up
Monitor Existing Partnerships
Consider Future Partnership
Conclusion
Appendix A
Appendix B

Acknowledgments

This guide document was prepared under NCHRP Project 20-7, Task 76. The Task Panel consists of the same persons listed elsewhere in this front material as the AASHTO Task Force on Fiber Optics on Transportation Rights-of-Way. The report was prepared by Apogee Research, Inc., with Dr. Susan Jakubiak serving as Principal Investigator.

1996 AASHTO Subcommittee on Advanced Transportation Systems

ALABAMA:	Robert D. Anderson, Robert J. Jilla	KENTUCKY:	David E. Smith
		LOUISIANA:	Chris Orillion
ALASKA:	Joseph L. Perkins, Jim Beeson	MAINE:	John E. Dority
ARIZONA:	Timothy M. Wolfe, Dick Wright	MARYLAND:	Lee N. McMichael, Michael Zezeski
ARKANSAS:	Eric Phillips, Steve Teague	MASSACHUSETTS:	Michael J. Costa
CALIFORNIA:	Wayne Henley	MICHIGAN:	Dr. Kunwar Rajendra
	<i>v v</i>	MINNESOTA:	Gary Workman
COLORADO:	William F. Reisbeck	MISSISSIPPI:	Marlin D. Collier
CONNECTICUT:	William W. Stoeckert, Earle R. Munroe	MISSOURI:	Thomas A. Dollus
DELAWARE:	Vacant	MONTANA:	William Cloud
D.C.:	Karen G. Benefield	NEBRASKA:	R. James Pearson, Kenneth J. Gottula
FLORIDA:	Jack A. Brown	NEVADA:	
GEORGIA:	Steve Parks		Thomas J. Fronapfel
HAWAII:	Paul Hamamoto	NEW HAMPSHIRE:	Ansel N. Sanborn
IDAHO:	Greg M. Laragan	NEW JERSEY:	Jean Servideo, Kurt Aufschneider
ILLINOIS:	Joseph Ligas, Joseph McDermott	NEW MEXICO:	Pete Rahn
INDIANA:	Dan Shamo	NEW YORK:	Thomas C. Werner
		NORTH CAROLINA:	Jimmy M. Lynch
IOWA:	C. Ian MacGillivray	NORTH DAKOTA:	Al Covlin
KANSAS:	Mike Crow		