





AMERICAN ASSOCIATION OF STATE HIGHWAY AND TRANSPORTATION OFFICIALS



444 North Capitol Street, NW, Suite 249 Washington, DC 20001

www.transportation.org

This is a preview. Click here to purchase the full publication.



EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE 2008–2009

Voting Members

Officers:

President: Allen Biehler, Pennsylvania

Vice President: Larry L. "Butch" Brown, Sr., Mississippi

Secretary-Treasurer: Carlos Braceras, Utah

Regional Representatives:

REGION I: Carolann Wicks, Delaware, One-Year Term

Joseph Marie, Connecticut, Two-Year Term

REGION II: Larry L. "Butch" Brown, Mississippi, One-Year Term

Dan Flowers, Arkansas, Two-Year Term

REGION III: Kirk T. Steudle, Michigan, One-Year Term

Nancy J. Richardson, Iowa, Two-Year Term

REGION IV: Rhonda G. Faught, New Mexico, One-Year Term

Will Kempton, California, Two-Year Term

Nonvoting Members

Immediate Past President: Pete K. Rahn, Missouri

AASHTO Executive Director: John Horsley, Washington, DC

HIGHWAYS SUBCOMMITTEE ON BRIDGES AND STRUCTURES, 2008

MALCOLM T. KERLEY, *Chair* KEVIN THOMPSON, *Vice Chair*

M. MYINT LWIN, Federal Highway Administration, *Secretary* FIRAS I. SHEIKH IBRAHIM, Federal Highway Administration, *Assistant Secretary*

ALABAMA, John F. Black, William F. Conway, George H. Conner

ALASKA, Richard A. Pratt

ARIZONA, Jean A. Nehme

ARKANSAS, Phil Brand

CALIFORNIA, Kevin Thompson, Susan Hida, Barton J. Newton

COLORADO, Mark A. Leonard, Michael G. Salamon

CONNECTICUT, Gary J. Abramowicz, Julie F. Georges

DELAWARE, Jiten K. Soneji, Barry A. Benton

DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA, Nicolas Glados, L. Donald Cooney, Konjit "Connie" Eskender

FLORIDA, Robert V. Robertson, Jr., Marcus Ansley, Andre Pavlov

GEORGIA, Paul V. Liles, Jr., Brian Summers

HAWAII, Paul T. Santo

IDAHO, Matthew M. Farrar

ILLINOIS, Ralph E. Anderson, Thomas J. Domagalski

INDIANA, Anne M. Rearick

IOWA, Norman L. McDonald

KANSAS, Kenneth F. Hurst, James J. Brennan, Loren R. Risch

KENTUCKY, Allen Frank

LOUISIANA, Hossein Ghara, Arthur D'Andrea, Paul Fossier

MAINE, David Sherlock, Jeffrey S. Folsom

MARYLAND, Earle S. Freedman, Robert J. Healy

MASSACHUSETTS, Alexander K. Bardow

MICHIGAN, Steven P. Beck, David Juntunen

MINNESOTA, Daniel L. Dorgan, Kevin Western

MISSISSIPPI, Mitchell K. Carr, B. Keith Carr

MISSOURI, Dennis Heckman, Michael Harms

MONTANA, Kent M. Barnes

NEBRASKA, Lyman D. Freemon, Mark Ahlman, Hussam "Sam" Fallaha

NEVADA, Mark P. Elicegui, Marc Grunert, Todd Stefonowicz

NEW HAMPSHIRE, Mark W. Richardson, David L. Scott

NEW JERSEY, Richard W. Dunne

NEW MEXICO, Jimmy D. Camp

NEW YORK, George A. Christian, Donald F. Dwyer, Arthur P. Yannotti

NORTH CAROLINA, Greg R. Perfetti

NORTH DAKOTA, Terrence R. Udland

OHIO, Timothy J. Keller, Jawdat Siddiqi

OKLAHOMA, Robert J. Rusch, Gregory D. Allen

OREGON, Bruce V. Johnson, Hormoz Seradj

PENNSYLVANIA, Thomas P. Macioce, Harold C.

"Hal" Rogers, Jr., Lou Ruzzi

PUERTO RICO, Jaime Cabré

RHODE ISLAND, David Fish

SOUTH CAROLINA, Barry W. Bowers, Jeff Sizemore

SOUTH DAKOTA, Kevin Goeden

TENNESSEE, Edward P. Wasserman

TEXAS, William R. Cox, David P. Hohmann

U.S. DOT, M. Myint Lwin, Firas I. Sheikh Ibrahim, Hala Elgaaly

UTAH, Richard Miller

VERMONT, William Michael Hedges

VIRGINIA, Malcolm T. Kerley, Kendal Walus, Prasad L. Nallapaneni, Julius F. J. Volgyi, Jr.

WASHINGTON, Jugesh Kapur, Tony M. Allen, Bijan Khaleghi

WEST VIRGINIA, Gregory Bailey

WISCONSIN, Scot Becker, Beth A. Cannestra, Finn Hubbard

WYOMING, Gregg C. Fredrick, Keith R. Fulton

ALBERTA, Tom Loo

NEW BRUNSWICK, Doug Noble

NOVA SCOTIA, Mark Pertus

ONTARIO, Bala Tharmabala

SASKATCHEWAN, Howard Yea

GOLDEN GATE BRIDGE, Kary H. Witt

N.J. TURNPIKE AUTHORITY, Richard J. Raczynski

N.Y. STATE BRIDGE AUTHORITY, William J. Moreau

PENN. TURNPIKE COMMISSION, Gary L. Graham

SURFACE DEPLOYMENT AND DISTRIBUTION COMMAND TRANSPORTATION

ENGINEERING AGENCY, Robert D. Franz

U.S. ARMY CORPS OF ENGINEERS—

DEPARTMENT OF THE ARMY, Paul C. T. Tan

U.S. COAST GUARD, Nick E. Mpras, Jacob Patnaik

U.S. DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE—FOREST SERVICE, John R. Kattell

This is a preview. Click here to purchase the full publication.

FOREWORD

In 2004 and 2005, Hurricanes Ivan and Rita caused significant damage to numerous bridges in the Gulf Coast states. Subsequently, the Federal Highway Administration (FHWA) initiated a pooled fund contract DTHF61-06-T-7006 for the "Development of Guide Specifications for Bridges Vulnerable to Coastal Storms and Handbook of Retrofit Options for Bridges Vulnerable to Coastal Storms." Sponsored by ten states and the FHWA, the project was contracted to the private firm Modjeski and Masters, Inc., with subconsultants Moffatt and Nichol, Inc., Ocean Engineering Associates, Inc., D'Appolonia, Inc., and Dr. Dennis R. Mertz. Dr. John M. Kulicki was the principal investigator for Modjeski and Masters, Inc.

An AASHTO/FHWA Wave Task Force was established to provide technical guidance and oversight for the contractor. The Task Force was initially chaired by William N. Nickas of the Florida Department of Transportation and later by Gregory R. Perfetti of the North Carolina Department of Transportation. Thomas D. Everett of the FHWA served as Vice Chairman of the Task Force. AASHTO State Bridge Engineer representatives included Mitchell K. Carr of the Mississippi Department of Transportation and Hossein Ghara of the Louisiana Department of Transportation and Development. AASHTO State Hydraulic Engineer representatives included Kevin Flora of the California Department of Transportation, David R. Henderson of the North Carolina Department of Transportation, and Rick Renna of the Florida Department of Transportation. FHWA representatives included project manager Dr. Firas Sheikh Ibrahim, Jerry A. DiMaggio, Shoukry Elnahal, Dr. Kornel Kerenyi, and Joseph Krolak. Coastal and ocean engineering subject matter expert representatives included Dr. Robert A. Dalrymple of Johns Hopkins University, Dr. David L. Kreibel of the U.S. Naval Academy, and Spencer M. Rogers, Jr. of North Carolina Sea Grant.

This document contains specifications for the design of bridges vulnerable to coastal storms that were prepared for the FHWA under the aforementioned pooled fund contract. The specifications are comprehensive and embody new concepts which have not been included in previous design provisions. The methods for calculating wave forces on superstructures presented herein are based primarily on numerical simulation of the state of pressure, velocity, and acceleration within the water as a wave passes under or over bridge cross sections. Physical wave tank tests conducted by the Coastal Engineering Laboratory at the University of Florida were used to develop some coefficients needed for the numerical simulation process, known as the Physics Based Method (PBM), and to verify the results. Bridge failures due to storm surge and wave loading in Gulf Coast states during recent years provided limited field data that was used to further verify these methods. Provisions for current-induced forces include the results of recent research conducted at the Turner-Fairbank Highway Research Center.

